Some people complained that they get this message when they open facebook:

I asked the people if they ever received mails from facebook – they said “regularly”. So I wasn’t really sure what could cause this issue.

So I grepped the logs from our mail servers and found…

Dec 13 15:09:49 NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from outmail018.snc1.tfbnw.net[69.63.178.177]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [69.63.178.177] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.63.178.177; from=<notification+h_hj_jwm@facebookmail.com> to=<xxx> proto=ESMTP helo=<mx-out.facebook.com>
Dec 12 12:45:26 NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from outmail017.snc1.tfbnw.net[69.63.178.176]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [69.63.178.176] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.63.178.176; from=<notification+ori=gczf@facebookmail.com> to=<xxx> proto=ESMTP helo=<mx-out.facebook.com>Dec 12 13:05:57 NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from outmail024.snc1.tfbnw.net[69.63.178.183]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [69.63.178.183] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.63.178.183; from=<notification+ori=gczf@facebookmail.com> to=<xxx proto=ESMTP helo=<mx-out.facebook.com>Dec 12 15:35:13 NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from outmail023.snc1.tfbnw.net[69.63.178.182]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [69.63.178.182] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.63.178.182; from=<notification+h_hj_jwm@facebookmail.com> to=<xxx> proto=ESMTP helo=<mx-out.facebook.com>
Dec 12 19:47:40 NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from outmail010.snc1.tfbnw.net[69.63.178.169]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [69.63.178.169] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.63.178.169; from=<notification+kr4mmb5xyrkr@facebookmail.com> to=<xxx> proto=ESMTP helo=<mx-out.facebook.com>
Dec 12 21:55:34 NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from outmail025.snc1.tfbnw.net[69.63.178.184]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [69.63.178.184] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?69.63.178.184; from=<invite+ooofzz_y@facebookmail.com> to=<xxx> proto=ESMTP helo=<mx-out.facebook.com>

So some facebook mail servers really made it up onto spamcop.net.

Good thing is that IPs get removed automatically after a certain time when no ongoing spam activity is reported, so when I checked today, none of these IPs were listed anymore.

The reason people got mails from fb but nevertheless got that error message is simple – facebook uses so many different outmail servers that users hardly notice when a few of them end up being blocked while the vast majority works fine. A single bounce mail should be enough to have facebook display the message though…

Leave a Reply

*
To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Click to hear an audio file of the anti-spam word